# SHEPHERD SCHOOL SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA

## RICE CHORALE

URI MAYER, conductor LISA INMAN, soloist

> Friday, April 15, 1988 8:00 p.m. in Hamman Hall

RICE UNIVERSITY

Shepherd School of Music



#### **PROGRAM**

Mass in D Minor "Lord Nelson Mass", Hob. XXII:11

Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)

Gloria

Qui tollis

Quoniam tu solus

Et incarnatus

Et resurrexit

Sanctus

Benedictus

Osanna

Agnus Dei

Dona nobis

Lina Chang-Liao, soprano Lisa Inman, mezzo-soprano Dixon Printz, tenor Richard Teaster, bass

#### INTERMISSION

Arias from Act III of Werther Les larmes qu'on ne pleure pas Ces lettres! ... ces lettres! ... je les relis sans cesse!

Lisa Inman, mezzo-soprano

Young Person's Guide to the Orchestra, Op. 34

Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)

Jules Massenet

(1842-1912)

In consideration of the performers and members of the audience, those who must leave before the end of the performance are asked to do so during intermission. The taking of photographs and the use of recording equipment are prohibited.

## SHEPHERD SCHOOL SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA

Violin I
William Chandler,
concertmaster
Rodica Oancea
Stephen Rose
Denise Couch
Mihaela Oancea
Fiona Lofthouse
Erin McGinnis
Ming-Feng Hsin

Violin II Jennifer Leshnower Teodor Tetel Jerry Wang Kristina LaCombe Tanya Schreiber Amy Chang

Viola Monisa Phillips Rifat Qureshi Erika Lawson Beverly Harnish Wendy Gauntt John Randolph James Alexander Renate Vaughn Cello
Cao Min
Peter Kempter
Aaron Stambler
Brett Nelsen
Lawrence Stomberg
Louis Spiegler
Teresa Hernandez
Alicia Barrett

Double Bass Kenneth Harper Josée Deschênes Jonathan Imsande Rebecca Sellon Debra Stehr Anna Cone Martin Merritt

Flute
LaNelle McDowall
September Payne
Nancy White

Piccolo Nancy White Oboe Adam Shapiro

Grace Tice
English Horn
Denise Roy

Clarinet Rachel Geesaman Susan Moore

Alto Saxophone Richard Nunemaker

Bassoon John DeGruchy Jan Harper Peter Hershey

Horn Hans Clebsch Paul Hopkins Eric Williams James Wilson

Trumpet
Jana Borchardt
Michael Cox
Diane Hilbert
Bobby Moss
Mary Thornton

Trombone Kenneth Clark Brent Phillips Patrick Corbett

Tuba Philip Burke Timpani and
Percussion
Gabriel Dionne
J. Riely Francis
Sharon Hickox
Matthew McCarthy
David Murray
Guillo Rodriguez
Christopher Rose
Richard Skains

Harp Constance Slaughter

Harpsichord Phillip Kloeckner

Assistant Conductor Luke Douglas Sellers

Orchestra Manager Martin Merritt

Library Assistants William Chandler Monisa Phillips Erika Lawson

Stage Technicians Hans Clebsch Kenneth Harper Erika Lawson James Wilson

### **BIOGRAPHIES**

URI MAYER is presently Music Director of the Shepherd School Symphony Orchestra and in his sixth season as Music Director of the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra. Born in Roumania and raised in Israel, he is a graduate of the Academy of Music in Tel Aviv and the Juilliard School of Music in New York. A prizewinner of several international conducting competitions, Maestro Mayer's conducting career has included engagements with orchestras in the United States, Mexico, Canada, Israel, and Europe.

LISA INMAN, mezzo-soprano, is a senior at The Shepherd School of Music studying with Frances Bible. She has performed the roles of Tituba and Rebecca in Robert Ward's opera The Crucible and Dido in Dido and Aeneas with the Shepherd School Opera Theater. In addition, Miss Inman has been a member of the Shepherd Singers since her freshman year, performing as soloist on many occasions.

#### RICE CHORALE

Soprano Anne Amador Kristen Baker Diane Barton-Brown Johanna Bonno Diana Burson Kirsten Cerre Alice Chen Elizabeth Clark Teresa Colver Cheryl Crosby Noelle Dwyer Marlene Feser Rebecca Garfein Mary Hansen Dema Harriman Lynne Hodapp Helen Hong Michelle Jockers Kara Koller Cassandra Kunkel Julie Langenbacher Linda Lee Ilse Maier Marilyn McKinley Jobeth Moad Laura Overstreet Krista Polk Constance Rhodes Allison Rice Katherine Schlachter Dawn Sheridan Catriana Stadtler Doris Thompson Robin Tucker Rosemarie Unite Lisa Unsell

Alto Trudy Bent Kristen Brelsford Alyssa Clark Maribeth Clark Linda Daniels Angela Demeris Nancy Dettbarn Carol Drummond Rebecca Epstein Beth Farley Carol Gsell Jennifer Hawkins Lynne Hsu Mia Hsu Amy Jackson Sweetie Krishen Tamara Louden Melissa Martinez Emily Nghiem Kathy Nuckols Jenise Pentecote Tammy Pluym Kristianna Schmitt Tanya Urquieta Emily Willis

Tenor
Paul Allard
Frank Almanza
Alexandra Bambas
Stephen Bomgardner
Mark Bradshaw
Sean Clancy
Brian Ford
Bruce Harrover
Cheng Hua
Phillip Kloeckner
Scott Smith
James White
James Winslow

Bass Peter Adamczyk Jonathan Benjamin Mark Bennett Ken Burton Philip Christiansen Todd Clapp Randy Claussen Jonathan Faiman Davis Fisher Larry Garcia Oscar Garcia-Prada Raymond Gilbeaux Vinodh Gunasekera Phillip Hall Justin Harding David Hendrix William Hooper Mike Hunt Brad Hunziker David Kiang John Krueger Stanley LeCarpentier Chuck Maienza Lorenz, Maycher Patrick McGarrity John Mulgrew Chris Nixon David Old Gary Raven Carlyle Sharpe Michael Sinkew David Sloat Joseph Staples Steven Trautmann

Frank McKinley, director Phillip Kloeckner, rehearsal accompanist